For Reporters

News Releases

January 20, 2016
BJS Campus Climate Data Confirms Campus Sexual Violence Problem

Read Entire Article

December 15, 2015
National Alliance to End Sexual Violence Commends Department of Justice Guidance on Gender Bias in Law Enforcement Response

Read Entire Article

See All News Items

Available for Interviews

  • Monika Johnson Hostler, President

    Topics: Military; Colleges and University; Youth; Prevention; Federal Policy; Media

    In addition to serving as President of the National Alliance to End Sexual Violence, Monika Johnson Hostler is the Executive Director of the NC Coalition Against Sexual Assault. She has been with NCCASA since 1999. Prior to becoming executive director Monika held other positions as NCCASA as well as the Scotland County Rape Crisis Center. Monika has been working to end sexual and domestic violence for the past 15 years, both on the local and national level. Most recently Monika has presented and written on working with the media, Sexual Violence in the African American community, sexual violence in the military, leadership development, and middle management to name a few. Monika is the current board president of the National Alliance to End Sexual Violence, advocating for federal policy and legislative change. She serves on various boards and committees including the NC Domestic Violence Commission and the NC Criminal Justice Partnership. Mostly recently Monika was appointed by US Attorney General Eric Holder to the National Advisory Committee on Violence Against Women.

  • Diane Moyer, Board Director

    Diane Moyer is Legal Director for the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, founded in 1975; the Coalition has a network of 51 rape crisis programs that provide services to every county in the Commonwealth. Since 1996, Ms. Moyer has been working to advance PCAR’s mission to advocate for the rights and needs of victims of sexual assault. Ms. Moyer has appeared in numerous media outlets, from New York talk shows to local PBS stations, and from the Washington Post to the Weekly Reader. Ms. Moyer has won the Victim Advocacy Award from the National Crime Victim Law Institute, the Leadership Award from the Victim Rights Law Center and The Sara-Alyce P. Wright Award from the YWCA Violence Intervention Program. Through her work on the National Task Force to End Sexual and Domestic Violence, Ms. Moyer has worked tirelessly to ensure that federal legislation addresses civil legal needs of victims of sexual assault as well as to ensure parity in funding for service providers in rape crisis programs. At the state level, Ms. Moyer has worked to increase penalties for drug induced rape, to extend the civil statute of limitations for child victims of sexual abuse, to create a standardized rape kit for the Commonwealth, to create mandatory prevention education for incoming students at colleges and universities and to create a statewide plan for the community supervision and management of sex offenders. As a faculty member of the Aequitas a national prosecutor training institute, Ms. Moyer helped to develop the curricula and continues to train prosecutors nationwide on the prosecution of non-stranger rape. Ms. Moyer is a graduate of Dickinson College and the New England School of Law.

  • Polly Poskin, Board Director

    Polly has been the Executive Director for 29 years of Illinois Coalition Against Sexual Assault. As Director, she works with the 33 rape crisis centers that comprise the membership of the coalition. Under her leadership ICASA’s budget has grown from $148,899 in 1982 to $14 million in 2011. She works with colleagues and related professionals to improve Illinois’ sexual assault laws and conducts statewide training on sexual assault and related issues.